Time to Celebrate

Photo by Markus Spiske on Pexels.com

It’s a birthday in our world today. Our Dozer turned 11 years old today. My, oh my, that does not seem possible at all. When he came to live with us he was only 2 years old. He didn’t really talk. He didn’t have to – big sister did plenty of talking for him. I can remember like yesterday the mornings after we would drop his sister off at school and I would drive him to daycare so that I could go to my job. He would silently cry the entire trip. The entire dad-gummed trip. He never really threw a fit or screamed, just cried.

Thankfully, it only took a short while and a super-sweet, first-time bestie to save us! The trips to daycare began to be looked forward to, and our boy-child was then able to have his Papaw all to himself in the evenings, as he would go and pick him up for me.

I know that often when I post blogs they may feel heavy. My life is not always heavy. Today, in honor of our Dozer and his unique spirit – I thought I’d celebrate him.

To begin with – this young man is gonna be vertically challenged. He’s not as tall as his peers, but his personality is huge! He is a loyalist. He has made a group of friends over his years in elementary school that are solid. They love to hang out together – they are the ultimate country boys – and they will rule the world one day LOL. I have told him before that the theme for them is Thin Lizzy’s “The Boys Are Back in Town”. You know that song … he knows it verbatim as well 🙂

He loves old rock ‘n roll. Of course, old to him is what myself and his Papaw always listened to LOL. He especially is a fan of southern rock and ’60s and ’70s rock. His all-time favorite song is by Buffalo Springfield – go figure.

He finds the most joy in being outside, with a project. He loves to hunt and to fish. He has entirely too many knives (I mean, seriously, how many can you use at once) and has more than enough other weapons. He is extremely respectful with these deadly instruments, but it’s enough to give one pause LOL.

It is not uncommon for me to look out our back window and see him traipsing across the backyard with an axe, a hatchet, a machete, a BB gun, a something … because there’s a job to complete, there’s an adventure to be had. He is the one person who you want in your corner because he’s always prepared. He informed me last year that the reason he will NOT wear shorts in the summer is because … there’s gonna be an invasion. You CANNOT be prepared for war, for living off the land, or any of that with shorts on … come on MaMaw! And when he delivered that information, he looked at me like I’d been raised in a barn.

He came home from school not long ago so excited he was about to jump out of his skin. He came barrelling in, unzipped his backpack, and got out his lunch box (which is usually my job) to show me what he brought me for supper! Uh? It’s a Friday afternoon … you brought supper home? Well, yep, he did … a ribeye steak – premium kinda – uh, dude … where’d you get the steak? Well, he traded a buddy for it at lunch! He gave the friend 3 Cheetos and a Debbie Cake and Dozer came home with supper! Who does that?

I went to his school for the Halloween Party this year. In my advanced years – this is my last kid in elementary school and it’s the last grade of elementary school and I’m the elected room mother. Seriously? Seriously. I walked in the school and was met by the principal and vice principal who spent time laughing at my dilemma, then informed me they weren’t sure they could let him go. He’s too loved. They adore him and can’t imagine the school without his shining light.

His teacher had dressed up like him for Halloween. You see – his self-chosen uniform is camo … jeans … boots/tennis shoes but ALWAYS camo. He might throw on his leather jacket … but he’s a simple man.

He’s funny. He’s considerate. He causes me to laugh out loud and he never, ever knows what to expect out of me.

He’s also brave, smart, and the oldest soul I’ve ever met in a small person. He is the bomb-diggity … and I thank God every single, solitary day that we get to walk beside him. Happy Birthday, Dozer! You are adored!

Author: proxymomblog

I am a wife, mother, MaMaw, daughter, sister and friend continually learning about God's will, grace, mercy and love for me in the midst of the chaos and collateral damage that comes from drug addiction in those I love so dearly. I am forever blessed, and hold firmly to the hope and faith God so generously gives me.

Leave a comment